DVGFX

Failed Header Postion - DVGFX

Failed Header Postion

by kurama143 » Fri Apr 22, 2011 2:12 pm

I need help with my header, its totally off and I even added that pro silver centering codes and still no luck. Im using that random banner thingy, how do I recenter my forum? http://www.SeventhSwell.net I wouldnt mind getting someone in my FTP to fix all this, I had this problem for quite awhile now for Pro Style as well. Even if I put in that center code for prosilver it never exactly center int he middle. Im on DVGFX style now and it wont even budge at all when adding codes similar for ProSilver.
kurama143
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 4:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Failed Header Postion

by Vafthrutnir » Fri Apr 22, 2011 7:30 pm

I created a fix for this, but phpBB hasn't updated in a while so I haven't uploaded the update.

Open overall_header.html and find <div class="headerbar"> and place this below it:

Code: Select all

<div class="inner"><span class="corners-top"><span></span></span>

         <div id="site-description">
            <!--<a href="{U_INDEX}" title="{L_INDEX}" id="logo">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a>
            <h1>{SITENAME}</h1>
            <p>{SITE_DESCRIPTION}</p>-->
            <p class="skiplink"><a href="#start_here">{L_SKIP}</a></p>
         </div>

         <span class="corners-bottom"><span></span></span></div>


Put your image code in there instead of over the main wrapper <div id="wrap"> and it should position correctly.
User avatar
Vafthrutnir
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 6:49 pm

Re: Failed Header Postion

by kurama143 » Sat Apr 23, 2011 3:15 am

Your the creator of DVGFX? Awsome!

Ok I done what you said and added the code "{T_IMAGESET_PATH}/site-logo-{SITE_LOGO_RANDOM}.EXTENSION" alt="Logo" title="Logo" /> for the Wrap part. Doing that cause the forum to go full size in length, which I dont want.

And adding that huge code in there didnt do anything for my banner. :cry:

My banner is up there now because I re-added that img code again.
kurama143
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 4:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Failed Header Postion

by Vafthrutnir » Sat Apr 23, 2011 1:37 pm

You put the entire forum in a frame. Just do what I said in the previous post and it will work. I didn't set it as the logo I just put it in an image tag.

Code: Select all

<body id="phpbb" class="section-{SCRIPT_NAME} {S_CONTENT_DIRECTION}">
<div id="wrap">
   <a id="top" name="top" accesskey="t"></a>
   <div id="page-header">
      <div class="headerbar">
         <div class="inner"><span class="corners-top"><span></span></span>

         <div id="site-description">
            <img src="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/site-logo-2.png">
            <!--<a href="{U_INDEX}" title="{L_INDEX}" id="logo">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a>
            <h1>{SITENAME}</h1>
            <p>{SITE_DESCRIPTION}</p>-->
            <p class="skiplink"><a href="#start_here">{L_SKIP}</a></p>
         </div>


Result
Image
User avatar
Vafthrutnir
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 6:49 pm

Re: Failed Header Postion

by kurama143 » Sat Apr 23, 2011 6:25 pm

I had to remove the code you gave me to get to that position again. When I put in your code and add the random header code to the "Wrap" It made my forum go full size and the header didnt show up when I coded it. Perhaps its because im using Prostyle as template... Idk anymore :( I dont even know how I put my banner in the frame. Its out now but I would rather put it back in there without the gap you see up there. Should I just reupload all the files back into the Template/Themes again and start over? Anyway im back to DVGFX on template again. Could you tell me from the beginning what to do?

I will restart the whole style again and redo that code you gave me. What I want is my banner to be completely centered and have no gap between the banner/header. And for my banner to stay in a frame just like that image you posted. I also use random header code, if you could show me what I need to do with that. And I dont really know what you mean by image code so I tried adding that Random Header code a few times but I came out with horrible results.
kurama143
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 4:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Failed Header Postion

by kurama143 » Sat Apr 23, 2011 6:48 pm

The

Code: Select all

<!--<a href="{U_INDEX}" title="{L_INDEX}" id="logo">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a>
            <h1>{SITENAME}</h1>
            <p>{SITE_DESCRIPTION}</p>-->
is grayed out, is that normal?

I then tried replacing the

Code: Select all

{SITE_LOGO_IMG}


with this here

Code: Select all

<img src="{T_IMAGESET_PATH}/site-logo-{SITE_LOGO_RANDOM}.EXTENSION" alt="Logo" title="Logo" />

No luck, so I replace that whole code up top with that code at the bottom and the banner came up like it did before, the same way :?
kurama143
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 4:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Failed Header Postion

by Vafthrutnir » Sun Apr 24, 2011 1:56 am

Just commented out the standard header, remove the <!-- & --> if you want to use them.

I'm not familiar with what you put in, but the standard {SITE_LOGO_IMG} would be fine, you could just remove the site name and description and use that.
User avatar
Vafthrutnir
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 6:49 pm

Re: Failed Header Postion

by kurama143 » Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:04 am

Ok I fixed it, Its completely centered :D
No thanks to you. :roll:

1st
I remove all that bull you told me to add wich only made the forum worse, and added

Code: Select all

<img src="{T_IMAGESET_PATH}/site-logo-{SITE_LOGO_RANDOM}.png" alt="Logo" title="Logo" />


behind

Code: Select all

<div class="headerbar"


That caused my cool random banner to show up.

2nd
I changed the padding on...

Code: Select all

.headerbar {
   background: #191919 none repeat-x 0 0;
   color: #FFF;
   margin-bottom: 4px;
   padding: 0 5px;
}

To 0px;

Completely Centered~
Thats how you fix a Forum like a pro :geek:

After spending hours/days playing with theses codes, I seemed to became a bad ass.
Now I gotta go find that code I founded earlier, that controls the space between Header/Navi. And put my user on the Left side.
Dont know why PHPBB set this all up on the right side, dont know about you guys but it seem so un-natural.

BTW, that
Just commented out the standard header, remove the <!-- & --> if you want to use them.
didnt work either.
Dont recall what it did but I tried removing too. I think it took the borders off my navi and added them onto the sides of my forum or something.
kurama143
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 4:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Failed Header Postion

by kurama143 » Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:29 am

HAHAAHAAAHAAH im such a bad ass. Fixed space between navi

I added

Code: Select all

height: ???px;

To

Code: Select all

.headerbar {
   background: #191919 none repeat-x 0 0;
   color: #FFF;
   margin-bottom: 4px;
   padding: 0 0px;
}

=

Code: Select all

.headerbar {
   background: #191919 none repeat-x 0 0;
   color: #FFF;
   margin-bottom: 4px;
   padding: 0 0px;
        height: 195px;
}


Perfection!
kurama143
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 4:10 pm
Contact: