proflat

Proflat logo not showing on mobile devices - proflat

Proflat logo not showing on mobile devices

by FranTastic » Sun Sep 25, 2022 9:25 am

Hi all

I see that the Proflat logo is not showing on mobile devices. Is there a way to make it show?
FranTastic
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2022 11:08 am

Re: Proflat logo not showing on mobile devices

by EA117 » Tue Sep 27, 2022 1:32 am

Indeed. That's actually inherited from phpBB's prosilver; the logo won't be shown on mobile with standard prosilver, either.

In prosilver's responsive.css, you will find a "display: none" override for class "logo" in a "@media (max-width: 700px)" block, with the comment "/* change display value to inline-block to show logo */". This is the same CSS which is stopping the logo from showing in proflat, or any other style which inherits prosilver's logo class behavior.

So that is exactly the minimum you could do for the logo to display on mobile: Change this "display: none" to "display: inline-block", and then use "Purge cache" from phpBB ACPs General tab to cause clients to reload the updates responsive.css, rather than continuing to use their previously cached copy.

To do more than the minimum, you could use CSS to set a different logo optimized for smaller displays, instead of trying to show exactly the same logo your style uses on larger screens.
User avatar
EA117
Registered User
Posts: 2172
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 3:23 am

Re: Proflat logo not showing on mobile devices

by FranTastic » Tue Sep 27, 2022 8:13 am

Hi EA117

Thank you for the information. Think I will need to re-do the logo header section with 2 different logos based on device size as you said.
FranTastic
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2022 11:08 am

Re: Proflat logo not showing on mobile devices

by SQLnovice » Sat Feb 11, 2023 11:49 pm

EA117 wrote:Indeed. That's actually inherited from phpBB's prosilver; the logo won't be shown on mobile with standard prosilver, either.

In prosilver's responsive.css, you will find a "display: none" override for class "logo" in a "@media (max-width: 700px)" block, with the comment "/* change display value to inline-block to show logo */". This is the same CSS which is stopping the logo from showing in proflat, or any other style which inherits prosilver's logo class behavior.

So that is exactly the minimum you could do for the logo to display on mobile: Change this "display: none" to "display: inline-block", and then use "Purge cache" from phpBB ACPs General tab to cause clients to reload the updates responsive.css, rather than continuing to use their previously cached copy.

To do more than the minimum, you could use CSS to set a different logo optimized for smaller displays, instead of trying to show exactly the same logo your style uses on larger screens.
This does wonders for our site, without having to resort to an extension and it works in all themes using the same logic. It worked for use even better by floating the image when displayed below 700px to the right.;

Code: Select all

        display: inline-block;
	float: right;
:ugeek: Thank you!!
SQLnovice
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 5:03 am