we_universal

Buttons menu do not hover - we_universal

Buttons menu do not hover

by maarten-jan » Thu Dec 06, 2018 1:14 pm

Hi!

This morning I upgraded from PHPBB 3.1 tot the most recent PHPBB 3.2. I also installed a fresh We_Universal. Sadly I'm experiencing som trouble with the menu buttons. They don't hover in de "Dashboard" picture.
dashboard.jpg
How can I fix this? I searched the topiclist but could not find the same problem....

http://forum.lanciathema.nl/index.php
maarten-jan
Registered User
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: Buttons menu do not hover

by v12mike » Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:37 pm

There have been changes in the way that the header image and buttons work since 3.1. These changes were made to improve the scaling of the header and buttons on small screens, the header buttons can now be displayed on screens as small as 320 px (depending on configuration and language).

But we need to be sure that I understand what you mean by "hover".

Are you talking about hover text which appears when you hold the mouse over a button? In which case there currently is none.

Are you talking about the position of the buttons relative to the header image? They were previously superimposed on the image, they are now outside it in the border.
v12mike
Registered User
Posts: 327
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Buttons menu do not hover

by maarten-jan » Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:08 am

I'm sorry for the confusion. What I meant is that the position relative to the header image has changed... sadly... because this new configuration is quite ugly. But that's personal. I don't like the big grey background around the picture. The screenshot of the theme in "Contribution details" is much nicer.

But as I understand, I need to live with this? Or perhaps I can implement the old code into this template to have the old configuration back?
maarten-jan
Registered User
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: Buttons menu do not hover

by v12mike » Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:18 pm

You are of course welcome to produce your own modifications or version of the style. I would probably advise you to start with the 3.1 version and just add the necessary changes for 3.2 compatibility. I would say however that I spent quite a bit of time working with the old design, and never found a bullet-proof way to get the head image and buttons to scale nicely together. It is easier if you have a background image that can be cropped as the screen size changes.

I don't have time to do any significant work on this style at present (I hope that phpBB don't release another version too soon).
v12mike
Registered User
Posts: 327
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Buttons menu do not hover

by maarten-jan » Tue Dec 11, 2018 12:16 pm

Ok, thanks Mike!
maarten-jan
Registered User
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: Buttons menu do not hover

by picaron » Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:43 am

Hi.
Delete ./styles/we_universal/template/viewtopic_topic_tools.html
Edit ./styles/we_universal/theme/custom.css
Add at the end.

Code: Select all

/* By Picaron */
.section-index .time {
    display: block;
}

.inventea-posts-menu {
    position: absolute;
    right: 0;
    z-index: 3;
}

.inventea-forum-menu {
    position: absolute;
    bottom: 0;
    z-index: 3;
}

div.header-profile  > div.dropdown {
    z-index: 4;
}

#notification_list {
    z-index: 4;
}

.inventea-header {
    overflow: unset;
}

ul.navlinks > li.inventea-time {
    display: none;
}
Clean the cache from the ACP and clean the browser cache.
That is all.
My extensions: Anti Adblock, PayForLink, SlideWeUni, StoreToMega, SearchBack, ShowSnow, No DEA Emails.
picaron
Registered User
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:55 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Buttons menu do not hover

by maarten-jan » Wed Dec 19, 2018 1:14 pm

Hi Picaron,

Thanks for this solution! The buttons are placed in the picture now. Looks very clean! Next is to figure out how to highlight the button on hover.
dashboard_1.jpg
maarten-jan
Registered User
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: Buttons menu do not hover

by v12mike » Wed Dec 19, 2018 6:47 pm

picaron wrote:Hi.
Delete ./styles/we_universal/template/viewtopic_topic_tools.html
Edit ./styles/we_universal/theme/custom.css
Add at the end.

Code: Select all

/* By Picaron */
.section-index .time {
    display: block;
}

.inventea-posts-menu {
    position: absolute;
    right: 0;
    z-index: 3;
}

.inventea-forum-menu {
    position: absolute;
    bottom: 0;
    z-index: 3;
}

div.header-profile  > div.dropdown {
    z-index: 4;
}

#notification_list {
    z-index: 4;
}

.inventea-header {
    overflow: unset;
}

ul.navlinks > li.inventea-time {
    display: none;
}
Clean the cache from the ACP and clean the browser cache.
That is all.
Thanks for suggesting this change. I will test and consider it for the next update.
v12mike
Registered User
Posts: 327
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Buttons menu do not hover

by picaron » Thu Dec 20, 2018 5:10 pm

Hi maarten-jan.
The buttons are highlighted in the way they are predefined in the template itself.
Maybe the problem is associated with the fact that the image you have selected is very dark and matches the established colors.
Try to include this code in the same file (./styles/we_universal/theme/custom.css) to see what you think of the result.

Code: Select all

.inventea-menu li > a:hover {
    background: rgba(132, 125, 125, 0.9);
}

.inventea-menu li > a {
    background: rgba(77, 73, 73, 0.7);
}
v12mike, thanks for your comments and for your work with this template.
My extensions: Anti Adblock, PayForLink, SlideWeUni, StoreToMega, SearchBack, ShowSnow, No DEA Emails.
picaron
Registered User
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:55 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Buttons menu do not hover

by picaron » Fri Dec 21, 2018 12:15 am

I love this style.
Thinking about it, i created the SlideWeUni 1.2.0 extension to add a slider replacing the original image. 8-)
My extensions: Anti Adblock, PayForLink, SlideWeUni, StoreToMega, SearchBack, ShowSnow, No DEA Emails.
picaron
Registered User
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:55 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Buttons menu do not hover

by v12mike » Thu May 30, 2019 1:51 pm

Thanks to the ideas from picaron, I have now added an easy option for moving the header buttons so that they overlay the header image. It will be in the new V2.5.8, ready soon.
v12mike
Registered User
Posts: 327
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Buttons menu do not hover

by Zinnn » Fri May 31, 2019 11:36 am

v12mike wrote:Thanks to the ideas from picaron, I have now added an easy option for moving the header buttons so that they overlay the header image. It will be in the new V2.5.8, ready soon.
amazing, thank you for bringing this back!
Zinnn
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2019 8:14 am
Contact: